June blog

IMG_0511

I have been writing this monthly fishing blog for a while now and usually have plenty to talk about, but June has been so uneventful as far as fish are concerned, I think it will be mercifully brief.

After the enforced period of leisure of the last couple of months, during which I fished 2 or 3 times a week, I have now got back to work so my opportunities are down to once a week. Every cloud has a silver lining though, I might not be fishing as much but at least I wont be getting the house repossessed.

The first 2 weeks of June are filled with anticipation for a keen Barbel man like myself. With the river season fast approaching my enthusiasm for still water fishing fades and I can only think about moving water.

By some incredibly bad planning I managed to book the family holiday to coincide with the first week of the river season, so for the first time in years I was by the swimming pool instead of by the river. Lounging, with beer in hand, it didn’t seem too bad at the time but my river season hasn’t got off to the best start, more about that below!

We also had a new arrival in the shape of Tilly, our new Border Terrier, who needs a bit of attention and has taken my mind off my Barbel preparations. She can never replace my old dog Sid, but she is lovely! Hopefully she can come fishing with me if I can find somewhere that accepts dogs!!

tilly
Tilly in the dog house

 

02.06.17 Cheshire mere

I had a few hours spare so visited a local water and fished for carp. It wasn’t a bad session to be honest. I managed to land a mirror of around 15lb which went absolutely mental on the mat, so much so I decided the best thing to do was to pass on the weighing and photo and get it straight back. This was quickly followed by a common of around 10lb that was equally lively.

IMG_0509
Picture perfect

The trouble with blogging is that I need images every month, so end up taking pics of quite unremarkable fish that wouldn’t normally merit the effort. In this case the fish made my mind up for me, I was on my own and couldn’t risk leaving them to flip off the mat while I picked up the camera. I never risk fish welfare for the sake of pictures for my blog so they both went straight back. Fortunately I managed to pinch another common of around 12lb off the top on a floating dog biscuit, I love this type of fishing but rarely get to try it. This fish behaved and I got a mat shot.

IMG_0510

Not a bad session but my mind was wandering to moving water; I even cleared out my fishing bag on the bank, removing the carp bits and bobs till March.

24.06.17 Mid Ribble

At last my river season could start!! I was buzzing as I drove the 45 miles to the Ribble. I decided to try a stretch that has produced some good fish, but can also require a monster walk. I planned to fish the first decent swim I found to save my legs but for some reason I was drawn to the furthest reaches of the stretch where there is a nice glide around 2m deep below some broken oxygenated water, often a good bet in summer when the river is low and clear. I set up 2 rods, both fished in the flow of the glide, one pellet feeder, the other straight lead with a paste wrapped boilie and a few crushed boilies in a pva bag.

IMG_0511

This swim has always been kind to me in the past but can be slow during the day and come alive at dusk. This is the conundrum we face as Barbel anglers, to stick or twist; I decided to stick it out. It was slow going to be honest, and with the river so stale I thought the fish might be tempted more by a moving bait. There were no other Barbel lads about, just a couple of Salmon anglers, so I decided to wander upstream and try rolling meat through a faster shallow run. I flogged it for an hour but didn’t have a touch.

Back to my swim, as dusk approached the first action of the day was a roach of a pound, followed by a tiny eel, and that turned out to be the sum total of my first river session of the season. Disappointing but still enjoyable in a perverse way, its a beautiful, haunting river and the wildlife put on a show, with Buzzards, kestrels and an owl all making an appearance. I had to be off by 11pm due to club rules but if I had stayed all night I doubt I would have caught a barbel.

IMG_0513
Nice roach but where are the Barbel?

 

30.06.17  River Severn- Shrewsbury

I had the company of my mate Kris from Stoke for a rare overnighter and we decided to try a secluded and under-fished club stretch just above Shrewsbury (I class the river above Shrewsbury as upper Severn).

I hadn’t fished it before but Kris had a good day there first week of the season. He had already grabbed the same peg and looking at it I could see why, it looked a peach with a big flotsam covered sunken tree on the far side that must be a holding area. It was not to disappoint and he managed a pristine Barbel of around 8lb that afternoon.

 

I picked a nice looking swim a couple of hundred yards downstream, also featuring a sunken tree and some overhanging willows, fishing a feeder and pellet across to them, and a straight lead and boilie down to the sunken tree, but it was all in vain. Just 3 chub bothered me in the night, admittedly of decent size, but scant return for sleeping under a brolley on the floor.

IMG_0514
Looks like a banker? Well the fish thought otherwise!!

By dawn I’d had enough and packed up, just in time to see Kris bag another almost identical fish from his swim. Good result for him considering the river was low and stale; later I had a look at facebook and it seemed the Severn was quite out of sorts all over, typical of early season.

IMG-20170702-WA0004
Lovely summer Barbel
IMG-20170702-WA0002
I can’t catch fish but at least I was useful with the Camera 😦

 

So a poor start for me but I am quite philosophical about it, I have been through dry spells before and find that they don’t last long.

Early season fishing can be very hit and miss, often the fish are still around the spawning grounds and tightly bunched, its a case of finding them. On reflection my ‘sit and wait’ tactics might have been misplaced, probably better to get mobile and search a few swims. I’m already buzzing about the next trip!

Tight lines

Dave

One thought on “June blog

  1. red July 4, 2017 / 9:42 pm

    Good to see you back on the rivers, unlucky with the results, they will come. I fished that swim on the Ribble this Sunday and had nothing. I twisted and opted for a new location, this proved to be the difference.
    Red.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

